One of several impressive Queen Anne Style houses in Gunnison, this home has a three-story corner tower on a two-story brick and stone main structure. Other Victorian elements include a gable that features half-timbering. Also, rusticated stone lintels, a front portico with pairs of columns and multiple roof shapes add to this picturesque style of dwelling. The windows in the house are original. The stucco facade has broken colored glass inserted in it.
This house was built in 1894 by Thomas Kearns. The Kearns were cattle ranchers. Thomas was the Mormon bishop of Chalk Hills and Hog Wallow congregations. He later sold the house to his brother Hamilton Kearns.
496 S. Main
Gunnison, UT 84634