Johnson/ Nielson House

Description:

Built about 1895 by a Mr. Johnson, this one-and-a-half story, picturesque Queen Anne style house is made of tan brick. Although small in scale, it is distinguished by varied roof forms and window and two porches on the east. Above the south porch is an octagonal tower with a bell-cast roof. Two gables protrude from the north roof. The main floor has six rooms, two halls and a pantry. The ceiling have been lowered from 12.5 feet to 10 feet. 10" moldings and baseboards exist throughout the interior. The windows are tall while transoms top numerous doors.
Louis B. Nielson, a prosperous sheep man and his wife Ann, purchased the home for $1000 in 1905 and lived there until his death. The home has been occupied by the Nielson family ever since and has witnessed numerous events in the cycle of life. The spacious kitchen has always been a favorite gathering place for family members.

Contact: none

Address:

351 North Main
Ephraim, UT 84627

Phone:

E-mail:

Johnson/ Nielson House